Attention Whore

I’ve grown tired of being jealous of other WordPress commenters whose names link to their blogs, so I’m getting one of my own.  Because, if the title didn’t already clue you in, I’m an attention whore of epic proportions.

It’s true that most people who blog do so because they think their lives, their thoughts and their passions are infinitely interesting to other people.  This is true approximately 0.007% of the time.  Blogging is the new karaoke:  people did karaoke because they thought they could sing (or because they were drunk); people blog because they think they can write (or because they are drunk).  Based on no study at all I conclude that there are more blogs than blog readers.  Why?  Because we are attention whores.

While whoring, I owe it to myself to at least be a little bit interesting, which usually means one of two things:
1.  Writing about pop culture*
2.  Revealing completely inappropriate things about my life to complete strangers

Chances are good I’m going to spend a lot of time on item 2, since I spend too much time researching item 1 to actually write about it. 

This little primer is getting a bit awkward, being a blog post about blogging.  It was suggested to me that I start an anti-blog blog, to prove how edgy I am, but coming up with content was a bitch.

*Sure, you may be interested in other things.  I read political blogs all the time, and find a fair number of them fascinating–when they write about pop culture.

2 Responses to “Attention Whore”

  1. moaninmymouth Says:

    Congrats on being the first M.O.M.!

    I loved your entry and fell in love with you instantly, so I had to come over and check you out.
    You are highly entertaining, my friend (may I call you that? It’s either that or “bitch”, you decide.) I’m actually really excited for your next post so don’t keep me waiting to long.

    Love,
    Moan

    PS: what’s the title of your fic?

Leave a Reply

