Malibu Edward

At 3 a.m. on Sunday, I couldn’t sleep, so I did the logical thing and made the two-hour drive to Virginia Beach to watch the sun rise over the Atlantic.  Totally worth it, by the way; if you have the means, I highly recommend it.

This would be so much easier if you could just bend at the hips (that's what she said)

P.E., this would be so much easier if you could just bend at the hips (that's what she said)

Pocket Edward, ever by my side, made a rare daytime appearance to soak up some rays and build some sandcastles.  He looked just like I imagined he would on Isle Esme, though the pea coat may have been overkill.

Our appearance caused quite a stir.  I didn’t expect people to be so judgmental in this day and age, but there they were, scrunching their noses and tut-tutting in our direction.

Or maybe they were just laughing at me, I don’t know.  What I do know is that I regret not picking up the Pocket Edward with the sunglasses.

The turrets gave him flashbacks of Volterra

The turrets gave him flashbacks of Volterra

I should have photographed the faces of the children who had to move away from their own sandcastle so a grown-ass woman could pose her action figure on it.  They’ll be telling the story for years.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Malibu Edward”

  1. unintendedchoice Says:

    pocket-edward looks like he had SO much fun…!!!
    hugs

  2. feelmeup Says:

    Priceless.

Leave a Reply

